TL;DR
- Official sources confirm a fishing guide, charter, outfitter or guide-boat credential in 43 states. South Dakota says it does not license fishing guides, and Florida requires no license for freshwater guides.
- Most resident guide licenses cost $100 to $375. Alaska’s guide registration is free; a Mississippi freshwater guide license is $500 for residents and $2,000 for nonresidents.
- Anyone running a motorized boat with a paying passenger needs a Coast Guard license. The six-pack (OUPV) license takes 12 months of experience, counted as 360 days, and $240 in Coast Guard fees.
- Guiding on national forest or national park land needs a federal permit on top of the state license. One park charges a $350 application fee and requires the state guide license first.
- Nonresidents pay the same in Florida, Oregon, Arizona, New Hampshire, Oklahoma and Wyoming, and up to about seven times more in Louisiana ($2,000 against $300).
There is no national fishing guide license. Each state decides whether to license guides, charter captains, outfitters or boats. The Coast Guard separately licenses anyone carrying paying passengers on a motorized boat, and federal land managers add a third layer.
We checked the agency, licensing board or statute for every state on Sep 14, 2026, and left out anything an agency did not publish. For the career side, see how to become a fishing guide.
Which states require a fishing guide license?
These 43 states have an official guide, charter, outfitter or guide-boat credential. Fees are as posted in September 2026, with the license year where the agency gave one. “Not stated” means no separate nonresident fee was listed.
| State | Credential and agency | Who needs it | Key requirements | Resident fee | Nonresident fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Commercial Party Boat License, Marine Resources Division | Boats carrying paying anglers in salt and brackish water | Coast Guard license for a passenger boat | $200 up to 6 passengers, $300 for 7 to 25, $500 over 25 | Not stated |
| Alaska | Sport fishing guide, business and vessel registration, ADF&G | Sport fishing guides, businesses and charter boats | Alaska sport fishing license; Coast Guard license for motorized boats with clients on navigable water | Free | Free |
| Arizona | Fishing guide license, Game and Fish Department | Anyone guiding for aquatic wildlife | 18+; Arizona fishing license; exam, 80% to pass | $300 | $300 |
| Arkansas | Fishing Guide License, AGFC | Anyone who guides or assists anglers for pay | Does not include fishing privileges | $250 | $500 |
| California | Guide License; Commercial Passenger Fishing Vessel license, CDFW | Inland fishing guides; boats where people pay to sport fish | $1,000 surety bond; first aid knowledge; Coast Guard license for powered boats on navigable water | $295.75 guide (2026–27); $487.50 CPFV | $679.75 guide |
| Colorado | Outfitter registration, DORA; no guide license | Outfitters paid for fishing or hunting services; guides work under them | Guides 18+ with first aid; outfitters also need a $10,000 bond and insurance | Not published | Not published |
| Connecticut | Guide services registration; party or charter vessel registration, DEEP | Anyone paid to aid or instruct anglers; party and charter boats | Coast Guard license if guiding from a boat on navigable water | $100 guide; $315 vessel | Not stated |
| Delaware | Fishing guide license; charter and head boat licenses, DNREC | Charter boats hired by the trip; head boats by the person | Not published | $100 guide; $150 charter; $300 head boat | $300 guide; $300 charter; $600 head boat |
| Florida | Charter Captain or Charter Boat License, FWC | Saltwater charters with paying customers | Coast Guard passenger license; commercially registered or documented boat | $201.50 for 4 or fewer customers; $401.50 for 10 or fewer; $801.50 for 11+ | Same |
| Georgia | Saltwater Fishing Guide license, DNR Coastal Resources | Saltwater guides and charters | Coast Guard license for the optional customer license | $25 (2026–27); customer license $150 for up to 6 | $50; customer license $400 |
| Hawaii | Commercial Marine License, DLNR | Commercial marine take, including charter services | Monthly catch reports | $100 | $250 |
| Idaho | Guide license, Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board | Guides employed by a licensed Idaho outfitter | 18+; first aid; float guides 3 supervised trips per classified river; power boat guides 50 hours | $105 plus $20 first-time application | Not stated |
| Illinois | Lake Michigan charter boat permit, IDNR | Charter boats on Illinois waters of Lake Michigan | Daily catch reports | Free | What your state charges Illinois residents |
| Indiana | Fishing guide’s license, DNR | Anyone taking others sport fishing for hire, even from the bank | DNR boat inspection; marine liability insurance | $125 | Not stated |
| Kentucky | Fishing Guide License under a Fishing Outfitter License, KDFWR | Guides, who must work under a licensed outfitter | 18+; background check; CPR and first aid; boater education (a six-pack license substitutes) | $105.70 | $422.80 |
| Louisiana | Saltwater Charter Boat Fishing Guide; Freshwater Charter Guide, LDWF | Guides running charter fishing boats | Coast Guard captain’s license; liability insurance | Saltwater $300 up to 6 passengers, $700 over; freshwater $150 | Saltwater $2,000 and $2,500; freshwater $1,000 |
| Maine | Registered Maine Guide, IFW; for-hire charter license, DMR | Anyone acting as a guide; coastal charter operators since Jan 1, 2026 | 18+; first aid; written and oral exams, 70% to pass; fingerprint check | $135 for 5 years plus $125 exam per classification | Not stated |
| Maryland | Fishing guide license, tidal or nontidal, DNR | Anyone paid to guide anglers | Federal passenger license if boat-based; CPR and first aid for nontidal licenses | Tidal $100; nontidal $20 to $50 | Tidal $200; nontidal $50 to $100 |
| Massachusetts | For-Hire Fishing Permit, Division of Marine Fisheries | Saltwater charters (up to 6) and head boats | Coast Guard captain’s license | $65 charter; $130 head boat | $130 charter; $260 head boat |
| Michigan | Inland sport fishing guide license, DNR | Guides on inland lakes and streams | First aid and CPR; no felony in 3 years; DNR pilot’s or Coast Guard license to run a boat | $150 for 3 years | $300 |
| Minnesota | Fishing guide license, DNR | Charter guides on Lake Superior and the St. Louis River Estuary | 18+; Coast Guard operator’s license | $125 | $400 |
| Mississippi | Freshwater Guide License, MDWFP; Charter Guide, MDMR | Guides on public fresh water; saltwater charters | Fresh: CPR, first aid and boater education, or a Coast Guard license. Salt: Coast Guard license, drug screening | Fresh $500; salt $200 | Fresh $2,000; salt $200 for most states |
| Montana | Guide license, Board of Outfitters | Anyone guiding anglers for a licensed outfitter | 18+; outfitter endorsement; first aid; prior license, guide school or outfitter affidavit | $125 application; $50 renewal | Not stated |
| Nevada | Subguide and master guide licenses, NDOW | Anyone paid to assist in fishing | Subguide 18+; separate fishing exam; standard first aid; Coast Guard license where required | Subguide $125 plus $50 application | Subguide $250 |
| New Hampshire | Fishing guide license, Fish and Game | Anyone in the business of guiding | 18+; hands-on first aid and CPR; written (75%) and oral exams | $100 | $100 |
| New Jersey | For-hire vessel registration, DEP | Owners and operators of for-hire fishing boats | Registration in the saltwater registry | Free | Free |
| New York | Guide License; Marine District Party and Charter Boat License, DEC | Anyone 18+ paid to guide anglers; marine charter boats | First aid and CPR; water or boater safety course; exam, 70% to pass | Guide $100 for 5 years; charter $250 | Guide same; residency not required |
| North Carolina | For-hire captain’s or vessel license, Division of Marine Fisheries | For-hire operations in coastal waters | Coast Guard passenger license | $250 for 6 or fewer passengers; $350 over 6 | $312.50; $437.50 |
| North Dakota | Fishing outfitter license, Game and Fish | Paid fishing outfitters | 18+; liability insurance; background check | $250 | $500 |
| Ohio | Lake Erie Fishing Guide License, ODNR | Guides in the Lake Erie fishing district | Coast Guard license, except ice guides not using an airboat | $50 a year | $50 |
| Oklahoma | Fishing Guide License, ODWC | Anyone who guides or transports anglers for pay | Lawful presence affidavit | $90, or $20 with a Coast Guard credential | Same |
| Oregon | Outfitter Guide or Charter Guide registration, State Marine Board | Anyone paid to assist anglers on water or land they don’t control | $500,000 insurance; hands-on first aid and CPR; Coast Guard credential for motorized boats on navigable water | $350 guide; $500 charter guide (2026) | Same |
| Pennsylvania | Charter Boat/Fishing Guide Permit, Fish and Boat Commission | Charter operators and fishing guides | 16+; CPR and first aid; $250,000 insurance per occurrence | $101.97 | $401.97 |
| Rhode Island | Party and charter vessel license, DEM | Party and charter boats | Coast Guard license; random drug testing program | $100 (2026) | $300 |
| South Carolina | Charter vessel license, SCDNR | Each saltwater charter boat | Coast Guard credentials; monthly trip logs | $275 for 6 or fewer passengers (2026–27) | $550 |
| Tennessee | Guide License, TWRA | Anyone paid to assist in hunting, fishing or trapping | Not published | $150 | $650 |
| Texas | Freshwater or All-Water Fishing Guide License, TPWD | Anyone paid to guide or transport anglers | Saltwater from a boat: Coast Guard license and medical certificate | $132 freshwater; $210 all-water (2026–27) | $132; $1,050 |
| Utah | Guide registration, Division of Wildlife Resources | Anyone paid $100+ to help people fish or hunt on public land | Orientation course; Utah license; outfitter affiliate code | $175 (fishing and small game) | $500 |
| Virginia | Fishing Guide License and Charter/Headboat license, VMRC | Charter and headboat captains in tidal water | Coast Guard license; Class A licenses capped | $100 guide; $190 charter | $200 guide; $380 charter |
| Washington | Food Fish or Game Fish Guide; charter licenses, WDFW | Paid guides in state waters; charter boats | 16+; first aid and CPR; $300,000 insurance; Coast Guard license for motorized boats on navigable water | $300 food fish; $375 game fish; $640 both | $765; $760; $1,490 |
| West Virginia | Outfitter and Guide license, DNR | Anyone acting as a guide or outfitter, including fishing | First aid; surety bond; liability insurance; WV business license | $10 | Not stated |
| Wisconsin | Guide license; Outlying Water Sport Trolling License, DNR | Anyone paid to guide anglers; Great Lakes trout and salmon trolling | 18+; Coast Guard license to carry passengers on navigable water | $40 guide; $100.25 trolling | $100 guide; $400.25 trolling |
| Wyoming | Commercially guided fishing boat sticker, Game and Fish | Every boat used for fishing guide services, since Jan 1, 2026 | Trip reports twice a year; no personal fishing guide license | $325 per boat | $325 |
Step by step for two of the busiest guide states: how to get a Montana guide license and Alaska sport fishing guide registration.
Sources: the pages linked in each row and listed under Sources, accessed Sep 14, 2026. Nevada master guides pay $750, or $1,500 as nonresidents, plus a $1,500 application fee for new licensees.
How do freshwater, saltwater and river guide licenses differ?
Most coastal states license the saltwater charter, not the freshwater guide. Alabama, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Hawaii publish a charter or for-hire credential and no freshwater guide license we could find.
Inland states license the person rather than the boat, as in Montana, Idaho, Arizona, Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky, Michigan, New York, New Hampshire and Maine. Some run both: Texas sells a $132 freshwater and a $210 all-water license, and Mississippi splits fresh and salt between two agencies.
Great Lakes states often license only the big water. Minnesota’s license covers Lake Superior and the St. Louis River Estuary, Ohio’s the Lake Erie district, and Illinois issues a Lake Michigan charter permit.
River float guides get the most specific rules. Idaho requires three complete supervised trips on each classified river a float guide wants to work, or one trip for guides who can show a 500-mile log as a commercial float boat operator on similar rivers. Oregon requires anyone guiding passengers in a nonmotorized boat on Class III or harder water to have run that section at least once. Wyoming licenses no fishing guides but now requires a $325 sticker on every guided fishing boat.
Do you need a Coast Guard captain’s license to be a fishing guide?
You do if you run a motorized boat with even one paying passenger. Federal law says a self-propelled uninspected passenger vessel “shall be operated by an individual licensed” by the Coast Guard (46 U.S.C. 8903). That means a boat under 100 gross tons carrying up to 6 passengers, at least one of them paying. Friends splitting the actual cost of fuel and food don’t count.
The license most guides get is the Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels (OUPV) endorsement, called the six-pack. Under 46 CFR 11.467 and 11.201 it requires:
- Age 18 or older.
- 12 months of experience operating vessels, with at least 3 months on ocean or near-coastal water for a near-coastal license good to 100 miles offshore. A month is 30 days, and a day on a small boat is 8 hours unless the Coast Guard accepts less, never under 4 (46 CFR 10.107).
- An exam, medical standards, a drug test, a first aid course completed within a year of applying and a current CPR card.
- Coast Guard fees of $100 for evaluation, $95 for the exam and $45 for issuance, $240 in all (46 CFR 10.219).
The federal license sits on top of the state one and often unlocks it. Florida, Louisiana, Alabama, South Carolina, Virginia, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Minnesota and Ohio want to see it before they sell you a charter or guide license, and Texas requires it for saltwater guiding from a boat. Washington, Oregon, California and Wisconsin require it for carrying passengers on federally navigable water. Some states reward it: Oklahoma cuts its guide fee from $90 to $20, Michigan waives its fee, and Kentucky accepts it in place of boater education, CPR and first aid. More on courses is in outdoor job certifications.
Do you need a federal permit to guide on national forests or in national parks?
Yes. On national forests, 36 CFR 251.50 requires a special use authorization and exempts only noncommercial recreation such as fishing and boating; the rules define guiding as providing services such as supervision, education or transporting people “for monetary or other gain.” On Bureau of Land Management land, 43 CFR 2932.11 requires a Special Recreation Permit for commercial use.
In national parks, 36 CFR 5.3 prohibits doing business without a permit, contract or written agreement, and the usual permit for guides is a Commercial Use Authorization. The St. Croix National Scenic Riverway on the Minnesota and Wisconsin line shows how the layers stack. A guide working under their own name needs a CUA and must keep a state fishing guide license the whole time; a suspended state license suspends the CUA. That CUA costs $350 to apply, plus 3 percent of gross receipts under $250,000, and requires at least $500,000 in liability insurance per occurrence. A business with two or more guides can hold one CUA listing each guide by name, so ask whether your outfitter’s permit covers you.
How much does a fishing guide license cost, and how long does it take?
Most resident guide licenses cost $100 to $375 a year. Alaska’s registration, New Jersey’s for-hire registration and Illinois’ Lake Michigan charter permit for residents are free, and West Virginia charges $10. At the top, Mississippi’s freshwater guide license is $500 and Louisiana’s saltwater charter guide license for boats over 6 passengers is $700.
Watch the term: Maine’s $135 and New York’s $100 licenses last 5 years, Michigan’s $150 license 3. Budget for exams ($125 per classification in Maine), first aid and CPR courses, and the Coast Guard license if you run a boat. Processing ranges from days to months:
- Alaska: 1 to 3 business days for online registrations.
- Michigan: an email answer within 5 business days.
- Oregon: at least 10 business days. California: 15 business days.
- Montana: 10 days for routine applications, up to 120 for others.
- Kentucky: 3 to 4 weeks.
- Nevada: 90 days for new applications. New Hampshire: testing “may take several months,” with 2026 written exams on Feb 24 and July 28.
For what the license earns back, see fishing guide pay.
Which requirements show up in most states?
Four come up again and again, and Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Arizona and Nevada add an exam.
- Age. 18 is standard in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Wisconsin and for Nevada subguides. Washington and Pennsylvania allow 16.
- First aid and CPR. Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Michigan, Kentucky, Colorado and West Virginia require first aid, and most also want CPR. Oregon and New Hampshire reject online-only courses. Maine requires first aid for new guides, but its law bars the state from requiring CPR.
- Insurance or a bond. Washington wants $300,000 in liability coverage, Oregon $500,000, and Pennsylvania $250,000 per occurrence. California requires a $1,000 bond and Colorado outfitters a $10,000 bond.
- An outfitter behind you. In Montana, Idaho and Kentucky you cannot license yourself as a guide; your license rides on an outfitter’s. Utah guides list their outfitter’s affiliate code, and Colorado guides work under a registered outfitter.
Can nonresidents get a fishing guide license?
Yes, but often at a premium. Florida, Oregon, Arizona, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Ohio and Wyoming charge nonresidents the same, and New York says you do not need to be a resident. At the other end, a Louisiana saltwater charter guide pays $300 as a resident and $2,000 as a nonresident, a Texas all-water guide $210 against $1,050, and a Mississippi freshwater guide $500 against $2,000.
Some states price by your home state. Minnesota charges nonresidents $400, or more if your state charges Minnesotans more than $440. Illinois charges whatever your state charges Illinois residents, and Mississippi’s saltwater charter guide fee depends on where you live. Virginia caps nonresident Class A guide licenses at 38 a year, and Washington is issuing no new salmon charter licenses. If you plan to guide in two states, see the best states for guide work.
What happens if you guide without a license?
In many states it is a crime. Where the statute or agency spells it out:
- Maine: a Class D crime with 3 days in jail and a $1,000 fine, none of it suspendable, for each day you guide.
- Idaho: a misdemeanor with a first-offense fine of $1,000 to $5,000, up to a year in jail, or both.
- Nevada: a gross misdemeanor, then a category E felony for repeat offenses, with boats and gear subject to forfeiture.
- Washington: a gross misdemeanor, and WDFW may deny your applications for up to a year.
- Oregon: a Class A misdemeanor. North Dakota: a Class A misdemeanor plus at least a one-year loss of hunting and fishing privileges.
- Louisiana: a fine of at least $1,000 for a first offense. Alabama: a Class C misdemeanor plus a fine of twice the license fee.
- Utah: a class B misdemeanor. Ohio: a first-degree misdemeanor. Michigan: a civil fine of up to $500.
Which states don’t require a fishing guide license?
Only two agencies we checked say so in writing. South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks states that it “does not license hunting or fishing guides.” Florida’s FWC says freshwater and surf fishing guides need only recreational licenses and it “does not require additional guide licenses.”
Wyoming’s Board of Outfitters licenses only big game outfitters and guides, but guided fishing boats now need the $325 Game and Fish sticker. In Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico and Vermont we found no fishing guide license and no official statement either way, so we could not confirm the rule. Missouri bans guiding for pay on Department of Conservation areas, and Nebraska keeps a voluntary guide database. Before guiding in these states, or on fresh water in a coastal state that licenses only charters, get the answer in writing from the state agency.
Once licensed, find open work at fishing guide jobs, and boat crew roles are covered in fishing charter deckhand jobs.
Frequently asked questions
Does a deckhand on a charter boat need a license?
Usually not a guide license. Texas says deckhands need no TPWD license, and Alaska exempts assistants working under a registered guide on the same boat. Oregon is stricter: charter crew register for $50 a year, and employees of fishing guides must register as outfitter guides themselves.
Can one license cover several states?
Generally no; a guide working two states buys two licenses. There are boundary deals: Virginia’s Class A guide license covers Virginia and Maryland waters, and a captain holding a Maryland guide license can get a no-cost reciprocity permit to run charters in Virginia waters.
Do I need a license to guide from shore or while wading?
Often, yes. Indiana says you need its license even if you fish only from the bank, and Texas sells a shore-based version of its all-water license that waives the Coast Guard documents. What you skip without a boat is usually the Coast Guard license.
Is a fishing guide license the same as a fishing license?
No. Arkansas says its guide license “does not include fishing privileges,” and Alaska, Montana and Arizona require a regular fishing or conservation license on top of the guide credential.
Sources
- 46 U.S.C. 8903 and 46 U.S.C. 2101; 46 CFR 11.467, 11.201, 10.107 and 10.219, Legal Information Institute; U.S. Coast Guard, Requirements for Uninspected Passenger Vessels (revised August 2017), accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- 36 CFR 251.50, 251.51 and 5.3; 43 CFR 2932.11; National Park Service, Commercial Use Authorizations and St. Croix National Scenic Riverway CUA terms and conditions, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, Saltwater Commercial Party Boat License; Code of Alabama 9-12-95, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Sport Fish Business, Guide and Vessel Registration, registration requirements and 2023 registration renewal form, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Arizona Administrative Code R12-4-208 and R12-4-102, Legal Information Institute; A.R.S. 17-362, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, Fishing License Descriptions and Fees, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- California Department of Fish and Wildlife, Guide License, commercial license descriptions, 2026–2027 guide license application (DFW 992) and guide laws, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Office of Outfitters Registration and laws, rules and licensing guide (C.R.S. 12-145), accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 490, sections 26-31c and 26-142a, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Delaware Code, Title 7, Chapter 5, sections 504 and 508; DNREC, fish and wildlife licenses, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Saltwater Charter License, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Georgia DNR Coastal Resources Division, commercial fishing licenses and 2026–2027 saltwater fishing guide license application, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources, Commercial Marine License, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses, Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board; IDAPA 24.35.01; Idaho Code 36-2117, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Illinois Compiled Statutes, 515 ILCS 5/10-135, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Indiana DNR, commercial licenses and permits and fishing guide license information, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, commercial guide license requirements and license fees; 301 KAR 3:150, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, For-Hire Charter Fishing Licenses and Permits; La. R.S. 56:302.9, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, Becoming a Registered Maine Guide; 12 M.R.S. 12851, 12853 and 6313, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Maryland Natural Resources Article 4-210, 4-210.1 and 4-701; COMAR 08.02.18.06, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries, Buy a saltwater for-hire fishing permit and for-hire permit application, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Michigan DNR, Sport fishing guides; MCL 324.48714a, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Minnesota Statutes 97A.475 and 97C.311; Minnesota Rules 6262.3000, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks, fishing license requirements and freshwater fishing guide rules (promulgated May 2023); Mississippi Department of Marine Resources, licensing and commercial license requirements, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Montana Board of Outfitters, guide license and guide application (Rev. Sep 2024), accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Nevada Department of Wildlife, subguide license instructions and laws and 2026 master guide application; NRS Chapter 504, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- New Hampshire Fish and Game, Becoming a Licensed NH Guide; RSA 215; N.H. Admin. Code Fis 1301.02 and Fis 1301.03, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- New Jersey Statutes, N.J.S.A. 23:2B-22, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- New York DEC, Licensed Guide Program and Marine District Party and Charter Boat License, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries, For-Hire Fishing Licenses; G.S. 113-174.3, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- North Dakota Game and Fish Department, Guide and Outfitter Handbook (2025), accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Ohio DNR Division of Wildlife, Lake Erie Fishing Guide License; Ohio Revised Code 1533.99, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation, license fees, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Oregon State Marine Board, Guides and Charters and 2026 outfitter guide application; ORS Chapter 704, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, Apply to become a charter boat operator or fishing guide, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- R.I. Gen. Laws 20-2-27.1; Rhode Island DEM, 2026 party and charter boat license application, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- South Carolina DNR, Summary of Charter Fishing Laws 2026–2027, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks, frequently asked questions, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, license sales, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, fishing licenses and packages, fishing FAQ and 2026–2027 Commercial Fishing Guide, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Utah Division of Wildlife Resources, guides and outfitters; 2025 S.B. 149, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Virginia Marine Resources Commission, charter fishing licenses, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, licensing requirements for charter boats and fishing guides; RCW 77.15.510, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- West Virginia DNR, Outfitter and Guide License, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Wisconsin DNR, professional licenses and guide and outlying water sport trolling licenses, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Wyoming Game and Fish Department, fishing outfitters and guides and Summary of Commercially Guided Fishing Boats Requirements (May 6, 2026); Wyoming State Board of Outfitters and Professional Guides FAQ, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Missouri 3 CSR 10-11.110; Neb. Rev. Stat. 37-356, accessed Sep 14, 2026.

