TL;DR
- Four-week hunting guide and packer schools cost $5,000 to $6,000 in 2026 with room and board: $5,800 at Swan Mountain and $6,000 at Royal Tine in Montana, $5,000 plus sales tax at Heart X in Idaho.
- Fly-fishing and drift boat schools run 4 to 8 days and $995 to $4,855. All-inclusive weeks cost $3,700 at Sweetwater (2026), $4,100 at Three Rivers Ranch (2026) and $4,695 at WorldCast (2027).
- Montana credits guide school by rule: an approved school’s certificate can stand in for the outfitter affidavit on a guide license, and each training day waives 3 outfitter experience days, up to 30. You still need an outfitter’s endorsement.
- Alaska counts an approved assistant guide course as 10 of the 60 days it requires. Colorado requires 50 hours of on-river training for river guides, and Colorado float-fishing schools sell those hours.
- The paid route exists too: a Bob Marshall Wilderness outfit posted a mule packer job in July 2026 with housing and meals and no packing experience required, and Gallatin River Guides pays summer shop staff $16 to $18 an hour with a path to a guide license.
Guide school is a short, paid course run by working outfitters and fly shops: about a week for fishing, about four weeks for hunting and packing. No state requires it. What it buys you depends on the state you want to work in and on whether an outfitter hires you afterward.
Below are the published prices from each school’s own website, what the schools and state rules say the training counts for, and the cheaper ways in. The licensing steps themselves are in how to become a hunting guide and how to become a fishing guide.
What does hunting and fishing guide school cost?
About $5,000 to $6,000 for a four-week hunting and packing school and $995 to $4,855 for a fishing school, before travel. Hunting schools usually include room and board; fishing schools vary, so compare what the price covers.
| Hunting and packing school | Location | Length | Published price | Lodging and meals | License credit stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Tine Guide and Packer School | Philipsburg, Montana | 4 weeks, 240 hours of instruction | $6,000 (2026 and 2027 sessions) | Included | On Montana Board of Outfitters approved list |
| Swan Mountain Wilderness Guide School | Swan Valley, Montana | 28 days (April 20 to May 16, 2026) | $5,800 (2026) | Included | On Montana approved list |
| Heart X Outfitters guide and packing school | Salmon, Idaho | 4 weeks (July 16 to Aug 15, 2026) | $5,000 plus 6% Idaho sales tax | Meals included; wall tents or cabins, bring bedding | None stated |
| Shoal Creek Outfitters packing school | Near Jackson Hole, Wyoming | Three 6-day levels (July and August 2026) | $2,200 per level | Not stated | None stated |
| Fishing and drift boat school | Location | Length | Published price | Lodging and meals | License credit stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sweetwater Guide School | Bighorn River, Montana | 7 nights, 6½ days | $3,700 (2026); $3,800 (2027) | Room, board and airport transfers included | On Montana approved list |
| WorldCast Anglers Western Rivers Guide School | Victor, Idaho | 7 days | $4,695 all-inclusive or $3,995 without food and lodging (2027) | Depends on option | On Montana approved list |
| Three Rivers Ranch | Warm River, Idaho | 7-day schedule (May 10 to 17, 2026) | $4,100 | Lodge rooms, all meals and airport shuttle included | None stated; Red Cross first aid, AED and CPR included |
| MHFA Fishing Guide School | Hamilton, Montana | 8 days | $4,855; page also lists lodging and meals at $2,500 | Local motels and restaurants | On Montana approved list |
| Montana Fishing Guide School (Gallatin River Guides) | Gallatin Gateway, Montana | 7 days (October 2026 sessions) | $2,490 (published for 2024 to 2025) | 7 lunches and 1 dinner; no lodging | On Montana approved list |
| The Colorado Angler | Silverthorne, Colorado | 7 days | $1,995 (2025 class) | Not stated | At least 50 hours with an instructor |
| St. Peter’s Fly Shop | Fort Collins, Colorado | 6 days (spring 2027) | $1,795; $600 for 2 more rowing days | On-water lunches only | 30 rowing hours; extra days reach the 50 hours for Colorado float guide certification |
| Kirk’s Fly Shop | Grand Lake, Colorado | 5 days | $1,600 (not dated) | Not included | Says graduates are certified to run float trips in Colorado |
| Colorado Fly Fishing Guides | Leadville, Colorado | 5 days (May 4 to 8, 2026) | $995 | Not included | None stated (walk-and-wade) |
| Fly Fishing Guide School | Bryson City, North Carolina | 4 days | $4,850 | Not stated | None stated |
Sources: each school’s price page and the Montana Board of Outfitters list of guide schools with approved curriculum (Rev. 4-23-25), accessed Sep 14, 2026. Most schools want a 50 percent deposit. Sweetwater and the Montana Fishing Guide School refund it only if they fill your spot, and Royal Tine, Swan Mountain and Heart X call payments non-refundable. Shoal Creek prices each of its three levels separately, with a fourth level to be announced.
How long is guide school?
Four to eight days for fishing and about four weeks for hunting. Fly-fishing schools are built around a week on the oars: WorldCast spends two days in the classroom and five on the water, including an overnight float of 26 miles of the South Fork of the Snake, and Sweetwater’s days run from about 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. with fly tying at night.
Hunting schools take longer because they teach stock. Royal Tine schedules 60 hours of instruction a week, 240 hours over four weeks, and runs class six days a week from 6 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. Heart X plans six days a week of twelve-hour days. Swan Mountain’s 28-day core course takes add-ons: 5 days of bear hunting guide training ($2,700, plus a $350 bear license), 6 days of river guide training ($2,650) or 5 days of waterfowl guide training ($2,600).
Shorter courses exist if you only need one skill. Swan Mountain sells 6-day packer training for $2,500 and 6-day wrangler training for $2,150, and Royal Tine a 3-day packing course for $750, all with room and board.
What do you learn at guide school?
Rowing and client handling at fishing schools; stock, packing and hunting skills at hunting schools; and first aid at several. Montana sets a floor for the schools it approves under ARM 24.171.502: a written test, a completion certificate, and instruction in topics that include guiding techniques, setting up camps, woodsmanship, firearms, field care of trophies, terrain and hazards, fish and game laws, rate and refund schedules, and state and federal wage rules.
- Fishing: Sweetwater starts with CPR and first aid on day one, then daily drift boat and jet boat training, knots and fly tying, and ends with a final interview and résumé help. Three Rivers Ranch certifies students in Red Cross first aid, AED and CPR in person, pairs two students with each guide instructor on the Henry’s Fork and South Fork of the Snake, and covers guide rules in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Wyoming and Yellowstone.
- Hunting: Royal Tine’s four areas are horsemanship (including shoeing), packing, guiding and hunting skills, and outdoor skills, with map, compass and GPS work, caping and field judging. Swan Mountain includes a Wilderness First Aid certification in the fee, charges extra for CPR, and brings in the Montana Board of Outfitters, Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks, the Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation and the Forest Service to teach permits and regulations.
What you still bring: Sweetwater and the Montana Fishing Guide School both require your own fishing gear and a Montana fishing license, and Heart X’s gear list includes binoculars and a hunting knife. If you already hold first aid and CPR, Three Rivers Ranch says you can skip that day.
Does guide school count toward a guide or outfitter license?
In Montana, yes, in two specific ways, and only if the school is on the board’s approved list. Elsewhere the credit is small or absent.
- Montana guide license: the application accepts one of three qualifications: a license from a state with equivalent requirements, a certificate from a board-approved guide school, or an endorsing outfitter’s affidavit. The school certificate replaces only the affidavit. Every applicant must still be endorsed and recommended by a licensed Montana outfitter.
- Montana outfitter license: the board may waive three days of the required guiding experience for each day at an approved school, in the category you apply for, up to 30 days. A 7-day fishing school can therefore waive 21 days; a four-week hunting school reaches the 30-day cap.
- Alaska: documented completion of a board-approved assistant guide training course may count for 10 of the 60 days of Alaska big game hunting required for an assistant guide license.
- Colorado: state law requires commercial river guides to have 50 hours of on-river training from a qualified guide instructor (C.R.S. 33-32-105.5). The Colorado float-fishing schools above sell those hours; 5280 Angler, a Colorado outfitter, requires a whitewater rowing certification of its float guides.
- Idaho and Wyoming: Idaho’s guide rules name no school credit; they ask for 10 days in the hiring outfitter’s operating area, and for float guides, three supervised trips on each classified river. Wyoming licenses no fishing guides, and for an outfitter license its board may accept “other training, experience, or education” in place of a year of guiding.
Check the list before you pay. The Montana list (revised April 23, 2025) includes Sweetwater, WorldCast, MHFA, the Montana Fishing Guide School, Royal Tine and Swan Mountain, plus the Forest Service’s Ninemile Wildlands Training Center packing clinic. Three Rivers Ranch, Heart X, Shoal Creek and the Colorado schools are not on it. State-by-state guide rules are mapped in hunting guide license by state.
Is guide school worth it?
It depends on whether it gets you hired, and outfitters’ job posts ask for experience more often than schooling. A Westcliffe, Colorado, outfitter posting hunting guide jobs on September 6, 2026, at $125 a day plus tips and housing listed prior backcountry hunting or guiding experience (0 to 2 years); a Montana outfitter seeking a rifle elk guide on September 10, 2026, at up to $300 a day wanted horse packing experience. Neither mentioned guide school. 5280 Angler, paying $185 to $425 a day, prefers prior professional guiding experience but says it welcomes those eager to learn.
Some outfitters point beginners to school directly. Swan Mountain Outfitters wants prior packing experience from its packers ($2,000 to $3,000 a month with room and board) and sends applicants who have never worked with horses to its own guide school. The school pitch is job access: WorldCast says 85 percent of its graduates find guiding jobs, Sweetwater says last year’s students averaged $4,000 to $5,000 a month including tips, and Royal Tine says it has placed every qualified graduate while making no guarantee, with placement help only for graduates who finish with a 3.6 average.
Do the arithmetic against real pay. At that Colorado outfitter’s $125 a day, Royal Tine’s $6,000 is 48 days of base pay before tips. At 5280 Angler’s rates, Sweetwater’s $3,700 is 9 to 20 guide days. School makes the most sense if you want a Montana license without an outfitter affidavit, need to learn stock from zero, or can pay with benefits: Sweetwater, Royal Tine, MHFA and Swan Mountain accept VA education benefits. Pay data is in hunting guide pay and fishing guide pay, and what hiring outfitters screen for is in what outfitters look for.
What are the alternatives to guide school?
Get paid to learn in a job that needs no guide license: packer, wrangler, camp help or fly shop staff. The same outfitters that run schools hire for these jobs.
- Packer. Montana Wilderness Lodge and Outfitting posted a June 1 to August 15 mule packer job in the Bob Marshall Wilderness in July 2026, with housing and meals, saying packing experience was not required.
- Wrangler. Swan Mountain Outfitters pays trail ride wranglers from $1,200 a month plus tips, with room and board, from mid-May to late September.
- Fly shop. Gallatin River Guides, which runs the $2,490 Montana Fishing Guide School, hires 2027 summer shop staff at $16 to $18 an hour for 40 hours a week and says the job can lead to a Montana fishing guide license.
- Camp help in Alaska. At least 30 of the 60 days Alaska requires for an assistant guide license must be spent working in a guide camp or supervised by a licensed guide, so a camp job builds the days a course can only partly replace.
A season on an outfitter’s crew also puts you in front of the person whose endorsement a Montana guide license requires either way. Current openings are under hunting guide jobs and fishing guide jobs.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use the GI Bill for guide school?
At some schools. Sweetwater, Royal Tine, MHFA and Swan Mountain say they are approved for VA education benefits; Sweetwater asks for a current Certificate of Eligibility. WorldCast runs a separate veterans school for $2,995 all-inclusive in 2027, and Sweetwater offers 3 college credit hours through Western Kentucky University.
How old do you have to be for guide school?
It varies. The Montana Fishing Guide School takes students 16 and older, WorldCast has taught 16-year-olds but recommends 18, and Heart X requires students to be 18 by July 1, 2026. Montana’s guide license requires age 18, and so does Colorado’s river guide law.
Do I need fishing or hunting experience first?
Not for most schools. WorldCast says students have arrived never having held a fly rod, though five days of rowing a big river is physically demanding, and Heart X is open to all skill levels. Colorado Fly Fishing Guides, by contrast, expects solid fly fishing basics because it teaches guiding, not fishing.
Is guide school worth it if I never plan to guide?
Some students think so. WorldCast says at least 33 percent of its students each year have no interest in becoming guides and come to learn rowing and trout fishing, and Three Rivers Ranch says it tailors the week for students who do not want to guide full time.
Sources
- Montana Board of Outfitters, Current List of Guide Schools with Curriculum Approved by the Board (Rev. 4-23-25) and Guide Application (Rev. Sept. 2024); ARM 24.171.502, Outfitter Qualifications, Legal Information Institute, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Alaska Big Game Commercial Services Board, Assistant Guide License Application Instructions, 08-4009, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- C.R.S. 33-32-105.5, Minimum qualifications of guides, trip leaders, and guide instructors; Colorado Parks and Wildlife, River Outfitter License, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- IDAPA 24.35.01.103, Guide License Application Requirements; Wyoming State Board of Outfitters and Professional Guides, Rules and Regulations, Chapter 2, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Hunting and packing schools: Royal Tine dates and prices, important school information and FAQs; Swan Mountain Wilderness Guide School prices and dates 2026 and Wilderness Guide School course page; Heart X Outfitters Guide School 2026; Shoal Creek Outfitters guide school, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Fishing schools: Sweetwater Travel guide school, pricing and dates, VA benefits and college credit pages; WorldCast Anglers guide school dates and info and FAQ; Three Rivers Ranch Fly Fishing Guide School; MHFA Fishing Guide School details; Montana Fishing Guide School enrollment; The Colorado Angler guide school; St. Peter’s Fly Shop guide school; Kirk’s Fly Shop guide school; Colorado Fly Fishing Guides guide school; Fly Fishing Guide School, Bryson City, accessed Sep 14, 2026.
- Employer pages and listings: RanchWork.com, big game hunting guide, Westcliffe, Colorado (Sep 6, 2026); Montana Outfitters and Guides Association classifieds: rifle elk guide with horse packing experience (Sep 10, 2026) and Montana Wilderness Lodge and Outfitting mule packer (Jul 17, 2026); Swan Mountain Outfitters employment; 5280 Angler employment; Gallatin River Guides careers, accessed Sep 14, 2026.

